Tags

, , , ,

Today I revisited the works of Khalil Gibran, reading The Forerunner: is Parables and Poems.  This book was originally published in 1920, and fits between The Madman and The Prophet in Gibran’s English works.  The book is a collection of parables and poetic pieces from the titular forerunner, who reminded me immediately of Nietzsche’s Zarathustra.  The more I read of Gibran, the more I connect his writings with Nietzsche.  Their philosophical content is different, with Nietzsche seeming much more bitter and eager to condemn the present.  Gibran, by contrast, is more understanding of the flaws of present day man, although he also seems to look to the horizon for some sort of approaching ‘ubermensch’.

Gibran’s writing is beautiful and profound.  He has a gift for distilling philosophical and psychological insights into brief parables that speak to all cultures.  Unlike many philosophers, Gibran embraces the mystic element and writes books that are as valuable for their literary merit as for the philosophical.  This is the fourth Gibran book I have tackled this year and I think it might be my favorite.  If you have not read Gibran before, this would be a good place to start.

The Current Count:

71 Read, 29 To Go

